Some bad news for chocoholics who only eat Halal food. Masterfoods the company that makes some of the world's best loved chocolates is to add animal product rennet to make its chocolate, most of the famous brands will have rennet (Rennet, a chemical sourced from calves' stomachs, is used in the production of whey) including: Mars, Snickers, Twix, Bounty & Maltesers. The Vegetarian society has condemned the change and issued this statement "At a time when more and more consumers are concerned about the provenance of their food, Masterfoods' decision to use non-vegetarian whey is a backward step," .
I am not sure what they will do with products that are exported to Muslim countries, I suppose they will use Halal rennet.
So if you only eat Halal food then this will be a blow to you, otherwise if you eat non halal (in the West) beef & chicken just say Besmellah and enjoy your treat :o)
Of course by non halal, I meant in people of the book countries (Christian & Jewish) so please no fatwas :o).